This is a little like a double reblog. This post links to another that argues that brilliants students should seriously consider not doing a PhD. Personally, my experiences are not as extreme as illustrated in this post, but I think there is quite a lot of merit in what this post is saying. It does seem that we do need to think long and hard about our PhD programmes and how we treat PhD students. I would go further and suggest that we need to consider the full academic career structure. It seems, to me at least, that the pressure at all stages is increasing and that the aspects of an academic career that made it attractive are being eroded to the point where I’m not sure that I would recommend an academic careers to others.

Disturbing the Universe

Excellent post by a friend on why not to do a PhD:

Dear Brilliant Students: Please Consider not Doing a PhD

Liv says a lot of good things here so that even if you do still want to do a PhD after reading this, you will be going into the process with eyes more open than I did.

View original post

2 thoughts on “

  1. I note you are a female student I really hope you are not looking at an academic career in the UK where only 17% of Professors are female

    • I presume you’re referring to the person who wrote the original post. I’m not a woman looking for an academic career in the UK. I’m a man who already has one. I do, however, agree with you. In my field it is more like 10% of academics are female. I also think that how we’re responding to REF is likely to make it even more difficult to create a more balanced environment.

Leave a Reply

