Sixto Rodriguez – Inner City Blues

Sixto Rodriuguez is an American musician who had a couple of albums in the early 1970s. They were well received by the critics but didn’t really do very well, expect for in South Africa where he supposedly achieved some kind of cult status (although he wasn’t aware of this until 1998). He gave up making albums and went back to work in the construction industry in Detroit where two South African fans found him sometime in the 1990s. The reason I thought I’d post this is because I saw him on the Andrew Marr show a couple of weeks ago and thought the story sounded quite interesting. There’s also a documentary, that I haven’t seen, called Searching for Sugar Man. I also like what I’ve heard of his music. I thought I’d post, below, one of his songs called Inner City Blues.

One thought on “Sixto Rodriguez – Inner City Blues

  1. Pingback: Searching for Sugar Man | To the left of centre

Leave a Reply

