What if we’re wrong about Climate Change?

I don’t think we are wrong about climate change and I am worried that we are getting to the point where, even if we can prevent a global catastrophe, it’s still too late to avoid many people in the world suffering from the consequences of global warming. I’m thinking here about extreme weather, rising sea levels, increased temperatures making some parts of the world essentially uninhabitable. Anyway, I thought I would post the following cartoon that I found very apt. I don’t know who to credit for the cartoon, so apologies if I should have given credit and haven’t done so. Essentially, the worst case scenario if we are wrong about climate change is that we develop new technologies decades before they’re actually needed (we will run out of fossil fuels at some point in the future). The worst case scenario if we’re correct about climate change doesn’t really need mentioning.

2 thoughts on “What if we’re wrong about Climate Change?

  1. I agree 100%. If climate change is real (I think it is, but I know some people still have doubts), the effects are going to be severe and devastating, unless we ACT to reverse it. As individuals, it is hard to know what to do. One thing we can do during this election is to vote for the person we think it MOST LIKELY to work to reverse the damaging effects of climate change. Not just in who we vote for in the presidential race, but in every race. The results of this election will change the world (hopefully, for the better!)

    • Thanks for the comment. I agree that it isn’t easy to know what we as individuals can do. Unfortunately, we in the UK can’t vote in the forthcoming US presidential elections. The results of this election could indeed change the world, either for the better or for the worse. I really hope that if Obama wins (as I hope he does) that he will use his second and final term to really make some positive changes to US policy as regards climate change. If Romney wins, I have no confidence that any such thing will happen.

Leave a Reply

