Today is Ada Lovelace day. Ada Lovelace was one of the world’s first computer programmers and the idea about the day is to draw attention to the achievements of women in science and technology. I’m very supportive of this as women are very under-represented in many of the sciences and highlighting their achievements so as to encourage more women to consider careers in science is a good thing to do (in my view at least). I was going to try and write something, but didn’t really know what to say. I thought, instead, that I would reblog something I wrote a couple of years ago. It pretty much says what I think and, given that few read it originally, it probably makes sense to recycle it. I don’t, however, expect the readership to increase substantially.

To the left of centre

Today is apparently Ada Lovelace day, a day when bloggers are meant to draw attention to the achievements of women in science and technology. Although I am aware of many women who have done and still do contribute greatly to science and technology, I had – embarrassingly – never heard of Ada Lovelace.  It turns out she lived from 1815 to 1852 and was one of the world’s first computer programmers, working with Charles Babbage on his mechanical computer.

The idea behind Ada Lovelace day is for bloggers to “tell the world about these unsung heroines”, but I wasn’t really sure how to do this. I probably don’t know enough about any scientist (man or woman) to really do them justice in this blog. What I thought I would do instead was to write something that would at least support what I think is the goal of Ada Lovelace…

View original post 765 more words

Leave a Reply

