100th post

So this is my 100th blog post. Seems a little circular to write a blog post about it being your 100th blog post, but anyway. I wrote my first post on the 18th July 2009. I started partly because blogging seemed like an interesting thing to try and partly because I’d outed a friend who had been blogging anonymously but whose posts made it obvious who they were. In fact, they’d linked from their blog to their own twitter feed so I’d assumed that they were were no longer anonymous. The slight look of shock when I mentioned their blog made me feel somewhat guilty and I thought I would try anonymous blogging partly to give them a chance to get their own back on me. It hasn’t happened yet.

This blog hasn’t been particularly popular. To date I’ve had 7983 views and 80 comments (quite a few of which are my own). My busiest day was 15 December 2009 when there were 1233 views, 985 of which were for the post STFC: Investing in the future?. This post has now had 2238 views, more than a quarter of the total. The sudden increase in views gave me such a fright, I didn’t sleep very well that night. In theory, one writes a blog for others to read, but it was still quite a shock when so many visited the blog on that day. It didn’t last; the number of daily views quickly dropped back to about 10.

The next most popular post is one I wrote about The Gini coefficient. Although I’m a scientist and started this blog partly because I was regularly following other science bloggers, my post are often quite political. This wasn’t my initial intention and, I think, is because I get more worked up about political issues than I do (apart from the STFC funding crisis) with science issues. Also, there are plenty of other very good science bloggers out there. I have also tried, unsuccessfully possibly, to bring a little bit of rigour to my posts. I find it very frustrating when the rhetoric surrounding some political issues doesn’t match the information available. Two examples are the AV vs FPTP issue and the NHS privatisation. AV vs FPTP was particularly annoying in that the FPTP supporters were being (in my opinion at least) rather economical with the truth.

Anyway, I’ll probably keep blogging. I don’t know where this will go in the future. I’ve remained anonymous, for no really good reason. It’s hard to change once you’ve started. I also don’t actually know how anonymous I actually am. I haven’t told anyone but have made a few slips when commenting on other blogs, so some may have worked it out. If you do know who I am, I won’t be annoyed if you let me know, but may look a little shocked.

2 thoughts on “100th post

Leave a Reply

