Happy New Year

Happy New Year to everyone and I hope 2010 is better than 2009. I haven’t posted anything substantial for a week or so. This is partly because I’ve been taking it easy over the Christmas period. We were planning on going away for a few days, but cancelled because of the weather and stayed at home instead. Also haven’t really done any work. Have quite enjoyed it, although maybe having a few drinks every evening isn’t a good habit to get into.

Another reason for not posting anything is that I’m not quite sure where to go with this blog. I don’t really want to turn it into a science blog as there are plenty of good science blogs out there. It has primarily been noticed because of my posts about the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), but also don’t want to turn it into an STFC blog – although the next few months may be an interesting time to write about the STFC. I’m also sightly concerned about the anonymity issue – I don’t really want to use my anonymity to say things that I wouldn’t say otherwise. As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t really have a good reason for being anonymous (in fact I’m not entirely sure how anonymous I am anymore as I know I’ve given myself away to a couple of people and am not sure how far the knowledge has spread). One of the reasons for starting an anonymous blog was that I gave away to someone else that I was reading their anonymous blog. Admittedly they had already let slip that they were writing a blog and had also made it completely obvious – in their blog – who they were. They, however, looked so shocked when I told them I had found their blog, that I felt quite guilty and decided I should maybe see what it was like to write an anonymous blog and also see how easy it was to keep it anonymous (it might also give this person a chance to get back at me for outing them – although I didn’t actually tell anyone else where to find their blog).

I could simply de-anonimise this blog, but at this stage I don’t really want to do that (although I don’t have a good reason for being anonymous – I do quite like writing anonymously). Since this blog, so far, has really just been my current views on various topics that happen to have caught my interest, I’m going to try very hard to keep it that way. I don’t claim to be an expert at anything I blog about, and don’t even necessarily claim that what I’m writing is necessarily correct (although I will do my best to check my facts). I also reserve the right to change my views as I learn more about something. I also intend to keep it reasonably balanced and as objective as I possibly can.

Please feel free to make comments about any of my posts. I have an open comment policy, although would appreciate if those commenting tried to make the comments at least reasonably pleasant. At the end of the day, this blog is more for my benefit (in the sense of giving me an avenue for ranting – mildly probably – about things that I feel strongly about) than for anyone else’s, so if you find what I’m posting interesting, that’s great, if not feel free to exercise your right to not read it.

Leave a Reply

