Merry Christmas to one and all

I was tempted to write a new post about what appears to be the UK government’s view on how to fund Higher Education and research, but I can’t really be bothered. I’m feeling somewhat drained and others (here and here) have written about it more eloquently than I think I can at the moment, and have pretty much summarised my general views.

So, I hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas and a great New Year (or at least enjoys the break even if you don’t observe Christmas as such). I would like to think that things can only get better next year, but I’m afraid I can’t bring myself to believe that that will be the case. Maybe we need to consider enlisting some celebrities (Bono, Joe McElderry, etc.) since these seem to be the only type of people that the current crop of politicians pay any attention to. Maybe if Jordan says that Higher Education and fundamental research are important for the future of the UK, things will start to improve (maybe Jordan’s a bad example, but I couldn’t think of another celebrity name).

Leave a Reply

